Richmond Information

The population in Richmond, KY was 33,533 in 2015. Richmond is the third-largest city in the Bluegrass region (after Louisville and Lexington) and the state's sixth-largest city.

On July 4, 1798, our city was named Richmond in honor of Miller's Virginia birthplace. Richmond was incorporated in 1809.

Richmond is situated among the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains. The Kentucky River comprises the northern border of Madison County, and it covers a total area of 19.2 square miles.


Richmond operates under a city manager form of government. The citizens elect a mayor and four city commissioners who form the Board of Commissioners. The Board of Commissioners is the legislative body of the city government and represents the interests of the citizens when applicable. The Board of Commissioners appoints a city manager, who administers the day-to-day operations of the city. The mayor is elected for a term of four years. Each city commissioner is elected for a term of two years. The term of the city manager is indefinite